USACE Field Research Facility
Field Research Facility
Coastal & Hydraulics Laboratory

Contacts


We can be reached at:
USACE-CEERD-HF-A, Field Research Facility
1261 Duck Road
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4472
phone: 252/261-3511 fax: 252/261-4432
Dr. Jeff Waters Jeffrey.P.Waters@usace.army.mil Chief :
Coastal Observations & Analysis Branch, Field Research Facility :
Geology
(252)261-6840 ext 229
Dr. Jesse McNinch Jesse.Mcninch@usace.army.mil Oceanographer :
Coastal Morphodynamics, storm-related beach erosion, coastal flooding.
(252)261-6840 ext 243
Ms. Judy Roughton Judy.C.Roughton@usace.army.mil Civil Engineering Technician : Office Manager, Document Specialist (252)261-6840 ext 221
Dr. Spicer Bak Spicer.Bak@usace.army.mil Research Coastal Engineer : Coastal Model Test Bed (252)261-6840 ext 238
Mr. Cliff Baron Clifford.F.Baron@usace.army.mil Computer Specialist : Networking, Webmaster, Programmer. (252)261-6840 ext 222
Dr. Kate Brodie Katherine.L.Brodie@usace.army.mil Oceanographer: coastal morphodynamics, storm-scale beach erosion, radar & lidar remote sensing (e.g. CLARIS). (252)261-6840 ext 233
Dr. Brittany Bruder Brittany.L.Bruder@usace.army.mil Research Coastal Engineer : Remote sensing, Coastal processes. (252)261-6840 ext 230
Dr. Tripp Collins Clarence.O.Collins@usace.army.mil Research Oceanographer : Ocean Waves, Wave Measurement and Modeling, Air-Sea Interaction, Tropical Cyclones. (252)261-6840 ext ---
Mr. Pat Dickhudt Patrick.J.Dickhudt@usace.army.mil Oceanographer (252)261-6840 ext. 223
Mr. Mike Forte Michael.F.Forte@usace.army.mil Physical Scientist : Beach & near shore survey. (252)261-6840 ext 228
Mr. Dan Freer Dan.Freer@usace.army.mil Senior Electronics Tech: Instrumentation & field logistics. (252)261-6840 ext 239
Mr. Kent Hathaway Kent.K.Hathaway@usace.army.mil Oceanographer : Instrumentation & data collection. Computer interfacing, programming, & image processing. (252)261-6840 ext 224
Mr. William Ledford William.H.Ledfor@usace.army.mil Civil Engineering Technician : Vessels, vehicles, fabrications, and deployments. (252)261-6840 ext 226
Mr. Rob Mitchell John.R.Mitchell@usace.army.mil Research Physical Scientist (252)261-6840 ext. 236
Mr. Jason Pipes Jason.O.Pipes@usace.army.mil Civil Engineering Tech: Deployment and field logistics. (252)261-6840 ext 236
Mr. Mark Preisser Mark.A.Preisser@usace.army.mil Civil Engineering Tech: Vessels, vehicles, fabrications, and deployments. (252)261-6840 ext 235
Mr. Alex Renaud Alex.D.Renaud@usace.army.mil Research Oceanographer : M.S. in coastal vulnerability, research support, coordination, and content development. (252)261-6840 ext 246
Mr. Nick Spore Nicholas.J.Spore@usace.army.mil Civil Engineer: . (252)261-6840 ext 231
Dr. Heidi Wadman Heidi.M.Wadman@usace.army.mil Geologist : Long-term coastal evolution, geochronology and nearshore geology. (252)261-6840 ext 244
Dr. David Young David.L.Young@usace.army.mil Research Civil Engineer : Coastal modeling evaluations (252)261-6840 ext ---

Directions from the Norfolk International Airport to The Outer Banks


Start out going Southwest. Turn RIGHT toward I-64/Airport Exit. Turn LEFT onto NORVIEW AVE. Merge onto I-64/HAMPTON ROADS BELT toward VA BEACH/CHESAPEAKE. Merge onto I-464 S/US-17 S/MARTIN LUTHER KING JR MEMORIAL HWY via EXIT 291B toward VA-104 S/ELIZABETH CITY/US-17 S/DOMINION BLVD/VA-168 S. Merge onto VA-168 S via the exit on the LEFT toward NAGS HEAD/MANTEO (Portions toll). VA-168 S becomes US-158 S.

When you get to the outer banks, you will be on highway 158. Follow the signs to the Town of Duck which is located on highway 12 just north of the of Southern Shores and south of Corolla. On the north side of Duck where the undeveloped land starts, and the speed limit picks back up again, you will see the entrance to the field research facility.

A security code is required in order to enter through the electric gate. Your point-of-contact at the Field Research Facility should provide you with one.


If not coming from the airport, use this link.

local map
Local Map (click to enlarge)
entrance gate
Entrance To The Facility (click to enlarge)

Using the Field Research Facility


Use of the FRF facilities and data by other government agencies, universities, and private companies is encouraged.

Experiments by outside users may be of any time length and take place most any time of the year. Routine FRF data collected during an experiment are made available to users at no charge while use of the facility, staff, and equipment is charged on a cost reimbursable basis. You also get access to the considerable expertise of the FRF staff in conducting successful studies in the nearshore zone. Should you be interested in conducting research at the FRF, the following procedure is suggested.

Contact Dr. Jeff Waters by phone (252)261-6840 x229 or e-mail to discuss your requirements. We also suggest that you visit the facility early in the planning process. Depending on the project's sponsor and funding, an agreement with the Corps of Engineers may be required.

    The email should include the following:
    a. description of the experiment
    b. preliminary schedule
    c. what will be provided
    d. services/equipment support requested from the FRF
    e. a request for a cost estimate
    This letter can also be mailed to:
    Dr. Jeff Waters
    U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
    Field Research Facility
    1261 Duck Road
    Kitty Hawk, NC 27949

This letter/email serves as the formal request to work at the FRF.

Because the FRF is part of the Department of Defense, foreign nationals must obtain approval prior to visiting. Requests for visit approvals will be submitted to the USACE, Foreign Disclosure Officer (FDO) and/or the Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC) FDO, depending upon the circumstances of the visit. The procedure does take time but approval is usually a formality. Foreign visitors’ representing their countries, i.e., military or civilians employed by their government, must first contact their military attache’ at their embassy in Washington, D.C. to submit a visit request. All foreign visitors, not associated with a foreign government agency, should email a copy of their passport to their FRF point of contact with an explanation of the visit (when and why). This will then be forwarded to the ERDC security office for processing (direct contact Linda McGowan, 601-634-2776, or Teresa Johnson, 601-634-2626). The request is then submitted to the ERDC FDO for approval. Requests must be submitted, at a minimum, 30 days prior to the proposed visit.

The FRF is located in a resort area, there are many hotels and rental houses available. Costs are higher during summer season when visitation peaks.